“Dhoni steps down as CSK captain: Win/Loss record as Chennai Super Kings skipper in IPL”


Chennai Super Kings on Thursday announced that MS Dhoni will step down as the captain of the team ahead of the IPL 2024 opener against Royal Challengers Bangalore on Friday, handing the reins over to Ruturaj Gaikwad.

CSK won five Indian Premier League titles under Dhoni’s charge, making him one of the most successful captains in the competition. Apart from the IPL, Dhoni also led the side to two Champions Trophy triumphs in 2010 and 2014.

Dhoni led the now defunct Rising Pune Supergiant during the IPL 2016, where he could record just five wins out of 14 matches. The former India captain stepped down in the following season, giving the charge to Australian Steve Smith.

Dhoni, 42, hinted after last year’s final that he is likely to feature in his last season in the IPL. In 2022, Dhoni had handed the leadership to Ravindra Jadeja before taking it back.

Here is Dhoni’s record as captain of the team:

MSD Captaincy Record with CSK

Matches: 212
Won: 128
Lost: 82
No Result: 2
IPL Titles: 5


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here




More like this

Crew Of Container Ship That Collided With Baltimore Bridge All Indian: Company

New York, Mar 26: The entire 22-member crew of...

Ganderbal Press Association congratulates Saleem wani for his promotion

Ganderbal: The Ganderbal press association has expressed gratitude over...

PM Modi to kick start Lok Sabha elections campaign in UP from Meerut on March 30

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will kickstart Bharatiya Janata Party's...

Six killed in suicide attack on Chinese engineers in Pakistan

PESHAWAR, Pakistan, March 26 (Reuters) - A suicide bomber...