Ex PMs Narasimha Rao, Charan Singh to get Bharat Ratna: Announces PM Modi

Ex PMs Narasimha Rao, Charan Singh to get Bharat Ratna: Announces PM Modi

Agriculture scientist MS Swaminathan to also get Bharat Ratna


NEW DELHI, Feb 9: Former prime ministers PV Narasimha Rao and Chaudhary Charan Singh as well as agriculture scientist MS Swaminathan will be honoured with the Bharat Ratna, PM Narendra Modi announced on Friday.

In a series of posts on X, PM Modi announced that government has decided to honour Narasimha Rao, Charan Singh and MS Swaminathan with Bharat Ratna.

The government had earlier announced the country’s highest civilian honour for L K Advani and Karpoori Thakur.

“It is a matter of immense joy that the Government of India is conferring the Bharat Ratna on Dr. MS Swaminathan Ji, in recognition of his monumental contributions to our nation in agriculture and farmers’ welfare. He played a pivotal role in helping India achieve self-reliance in agriculture during challenging times and made outstanding efforts towards modernizing Indian agriculture. We also recognise his invaluable work as an innovator and mentor and encouraging learning and research among several students.

Dr. Swaminathan’s visionary leadership has not only transformed Indian agriculture but also ensured the nation’s food security and prosperity. He was someone I knew closely and l always valued his insights and inputs,” PM Modi said, while announcing Bharat Ratna for MS Swaminathan.

“Delighted to share that our former Prime Minister, Shri PV Narasimha Rao Garu, will be honoured with the Bharat Ratna. As a distinguished scholar and statesman, Narasimha Rao Garu served India extensively in various capacities. He is equally remembered for the work he did as Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, Union Minister, and as a Member of Parliament and Legislative Assembly for many years. His visionary leadership was instrumental in making India economically advanced, laying a solid foundation for the country’s prosperity and growth,” PM Modi said as he announced Bharat Ratna for PV Naarsimha Rao.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.