Five more politicians walk home after over four month detention

Five more politicians walk home after over four month detention

Earlier, five mainstream leaders were released, two of them on health grounds

Owais Gul

Srinagar, Dec 30 : Jammu and Kashmir administration on Monday ordered the release of five more politicians who were detained on August 5 along with dozens of others.

A senior police official confirmed the development to wire service—, stating that five persons who were detained at MLA hostel Srinagar have been released from the detention. Those released include Zahoor Mir former PDP MLA from Pampore, Dr Ghulam Nabi, NC leader from Tral, Sheikh Ishfaq Jabbar, former NC MLA from Ganderbal, Yasir Reshi former MLC,  Bashir Mir PDP leader from Kangan.

All these leaders were detained on prior to August 5, when Government of India announced to scrap the Article 370 and bifurcated erstwhile State of J&K into two Union Territories (UTs)—Ladakh and J&K.

Earlier, on October 10, three politicians, Yawar Mir, Noor Muhammad and Shoiab Lone were released on various grounds which includes signing of a bond. Before them, two other leaders that include Muhammad Syed Akhoon and Imran Ansari were released on health grounds.

A top police official revealed to news agency that the release of other detained politicians was subject to “security review.” Pertinently, among the detained leaders are three former Chief Ministers—Farooq Abdullah, Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti. Senior Abdullah has been booked under Public Safety Act (PSA) and is serving detention at this Gupkar residence that has been declared a sub-jail. (KNO)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.