Baramulla Lok Sabha Seat Braces for Fierce Electoral Battle


Omar Abdullah, Sajad Lone, Fayaz Mir  among 19 file nomination papers

Suhail Khan

BARAMULLA, May 02: Baramulla Lok Sabha constituency in Jammu and Kashmir is gearing up for a highly competitive election, with several prominent political leaders filing their nomination papers. This includes National Conference Vice President Omar Abdullah, People’s Conference chief Sajad Lone, and former Rajya Sabha member and PDP candidate Mohammad Fayaz Mir.

The contest is expected to be intense as newer parties with substantial support bases have joined forces in support of the PC candidate Sajad Gani Lone. This challenge poses a formidable one to the traditional dominance of the NC-INC alliance in the region.

The constituency has a rich political history, with the NC and INC parties alternating victories over the years. However, there have been instances of change, such as the PDP’s Muzaffar Hussain Beigh’s win in 2014, breaking the traditional hold of the NC and INC.

The diversity of candidates, including independent and smaller party nominees, reflects the vibrant political landscape in Baramulla. This multi-cornered contest promises an exciting and competitive election, with the potential to reshape the political dynamics in the region.

Meanwhile, an official told Kashmir Despatch that till date, a total of 19 candidates have filed nomination papers for the Baramulla Parliamentary Constituency.

He said Omar Abdullah on Thursday was accompanied by NC’s treasurer Shammi Oberoi and senior vice president of Jammu and Kashmir Pradesh Congress Committee G N Monga, when he filed the nomination papers before Baramulla Deputy Commissioner Minga Sherpa, the returning officer of the constituency.

PDP candidate Fayaz Mir also filed his nomination papers on Thursday for the constituency, which will go to polls in the fifth phase of elections.

Meanwhile, a multi-cornered contest is on the cards in the constituency with already People’s Conference president Sajad Gani Lone and jailed leader of the Awami Ittehad Party, Abdul Rashid Sheikh alias Engineer Rashid, joining the fray.

Among others who filed nomination papers for the Baramulla seat include Imran Raza Ansari from Jammu & Kashmir People’s Conference Party, Suhail Ahmad Khan, an Independent Candidate, Peerzada Mudasir Rashid Shah from Jammu and Kashmir National Panthers Party (BHIM), Nazir Ahmad Sofi, an Independent Candidate, Mustaq Ahmad Mir from National Loktantrik Party, Muzaffar Hussain Dar, an independent candidate from HMT Srinagar, Hilal Ahmad Wagay, an independent candidate, and Mudasir Ahmad Tantray, an independent candidate from Handwara.

Suhail Khan
Suhail Khan

Suhail Khan is a filmmaker, content writer, and freelance journalist.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here




More like this

Parliament Election 2024: SSP Srinagar visits various camping locations across district

Srinagar, May 03: In anticipation of the forthcoming Parliamentary...

Elderly woman slips into Jhelum, dies in Bandipora village

Bandipora, May 03 : A 70-year-old woman died after...

Night temp stays below normal in J&K

Srinagar, May 3 : Night temperature recorded an increase...