DGPC Election- 2022 conducted smoothly in Kashmir Division

DGPC Election- 2022 conducted smoothly in Kashmir Division

63 elected unopposed, elections contested in 16 constituencies, 49.58 percent voter turnover recorded

Srinagar, June 27 : The elections for District Gurudwara Prabandhak Committees (DGPC) 2022 were successfully and peacefully held today amid sufficient security across 16 constituencies in Srinagar, Baramulla and Pulwama districts of Kashmir Division for which 34 Polling Stations were established.

Out of 40 Candidates in fray 12 candidates were contesting for six Constituencies in Srinagar District, 23 Candidates were contesting for eight Constituencies of Baramulla District and 05 Candidates were contesting for two constituencies of Pulwama District.

The polling commenced from 7:00 AM till 1:00 PM at 34 Polling Stations in these 03 Districts. The total number of eligible electors registered for these sixteen constituencies was 12701. The total number of votes polled during the prescribed time were 6297 with a voting percentage of 49.58%.

The counting of votes was held from 2:00 PM onwards and the results of 16 candidates were declared soon after the counting was finished.

Pertinent to mention here, that there are 80 DGPC Constituencies in Kashmir Division 11 constituencies each for District Srinagar, Budgam, Baramulla, Kupwara, Anantnag, Kulgam and Pulwama, and 02 Constituencies for Shopian District.

Out of these 80 DGPC Constituencies, candidates of 63 constituencies were elected unopposed which include each 11 candidates of District Budgam, Kupwara, Anantnag, Kulgam and 02 of District Shopian, 05 candidates of Srinagar, 03 Candidates of Baramulla and 09 candidates of Pulwama District. Further in Bandipora no nomination paper has been received for one DGPC constituency of the District and in District Ganderbal no DGPC Constituency therefore elections were not held in these two districts.

The Divisional Commissioner, Kashmir who is the Nodal Officer and under whose supervision these elections were held expressed satisfaction on the free and fair, peaceful, transparent and smooth conduct of the elections. He congratulated the winning candidates and hoped that the elected candidates will work for the betterment of respective electorates for next five years.

The Divisional Commissioner Kashmir also thanked the respective Deputy Commissioners, District Election Authorities, Security Agencies and all the officials involved in the smooth conduct of these elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.